Please Note: The following calendar represents events occurring in Rome during this Year of Mercy. Please see the Diocese of Burlington calendar of events for local information.

December 2015

Tuesday, December 8, 2015

Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception
Mass for the Opening of the Holy Door of St. Peter’s Basilica.
St. Peter’s Square

Sunday, December 13, 2015

III Sunday of Advent
Opening of the Holy Doors of the Basilicas of St. John Lateran and St. Paul Outside the Walls and of the Cathedrals of the World.

January 2016

Friday, January 1, 2016

Solemnity of Mary, the Holy Mother of God
World Day for Peace.
Opening of the Holy Door of the Basilica of Saint Mary Major.

Tuesday, January 19 - Thursday 21, 2016

Jubilee for those Engaged in Pilgrimage Work.

February 2016

Wednesday, February 10, 2016

Ash Wednesday
Sending forth of the Missionaries of Mercy, St. Peter’s Basilica.

Monday, February 22, 2016

Feast of the Chair of St. Peter
Jubilee for the Roman Curia, the Governorate and the Institutions connected with the Holy See.

Jubilee sign of the Holy Father: witness of the works of mercy.

March 2016

Friday, March 4 - Saturday 5, 2016

“24 Hours for the Lord”
with a penitential liturgy in St. Peter’s Basilica on the afternoon of Friday, March 4.

April 2016

Friday, April 1 - Sunday 3, 2016

Divine Mercy Sunday
Jubilee for those who are devoted to the spirituality of Divine Mercy.

Saturday, April 23 - Monday 25, 2016

V Sunday of Easter
Jubilee for young boys and girls (ages 13 – 16) To profess the faith and construct
a culture of mercy.

Jubilee sign of the Holy Father: witness of the works of mercy.

May 2016

Thursday, May 5, 2016

Solemnity of the Ascension of the Lord
“Dry the tears”
Prayer Vigil for all those in need of consolation.

Friday, May 27 - Sunday 29, 2016

The Solemnity of Corpus Christi in Italy
Jubilee for deacons.

June 2016

Wednesday, June 1 - Friday 3, 2016

Solemnity of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus
Jubilee for priests.
160 years since the introduction of the Feast by Pius IX in 1856.

Friday, June 10 - Sunday 12, 2016

XI Sunday of Ordinary Time
Jubilee for those who are ill and for persons with disabilities.

Jubilee sign of the Holy Father: witness of the works of mercy.

July 2016

Tuesday, July 26 - Sunday 31, 2016

To conclude on the XVIII Sunday of Ordinary Time
Jubilee for young people.
World Youth Day in Krakow, Poland.

September 2016

Friday, September 2 - Sunday 4, 2016

XXIII Sunday of Ordinary Time
Memorial of Blessed Teresa of Calcutta September 5
Jubilee for workers and volunteers of mercy.

Friday, September 23 - Sunday 25, 2016

XXVI Sunday of Ordinary Time
Jubilee for catechists.

OctOber 2016

Friday, October 7 - Sunday 9, 2016

Friday, Memorial of Our Lady of the Rosary
Marian Jubilee.

November 2016

Sunday, November 6, 2016

XXXII Sunday of Ordinary Time
In St. Peters Basilica, the Jubilee for prisoners.

Sunday, November 13, 2016

XXXIII Sunday of Ordinary Time
Closing of the Holy Doors in the Basilicas of Rome and in the Dioceses of the world.

Sunday, November 20, 2016

Solemnity of Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe
Closing of the Holy Door of St. Peter’s Basilica and the conclusion of the Jubilee of Mercy.

All but two Jubilees are to be held at 3pm EST, at Saint Joseph Co-Cathedral in Burlington - the location of the Holy Door of Mercy. Exceptions are the June 18th Jubilee for Priests and Seminarians to be held at 10a.m. at St. Joseph Co-Cathedral, and the July 17th Jubilee for Families to be held at St. Anne's Shrine, Isle la Motte @ 12:15pm.

Go to top