fbpx Skip to Main Content

Who We Are

The Catholic Community of Vermont

A Brief History of the Diocese of Burlington

The history of Catholicism in Vermont — known now as the Green Mountain State —dates back to 1609 with the arrival of Samuel de Champlain, who remarked, “Voilà les monts verts!” The Church developed slowly through three phases. The early period of evangelization and missionary activity planted the seed and set down roots. Catholicism in Vermont came of age with the establishment of the Diocese of Burlington in 1853. The third, contemporary phase began after about 1965 with efforts to implement the renewal of the Second Vatican Council. Read more about the history of the Diocese.

Bishops of Burlington

  • Christopher James Coyne (2015-2023)
  • Salvatore Ronald Matano (2005-2013)
  • Kenneth Anthony Angell (1992-2005)
  • John Aloysius Marshall (1971-1991)
  • Robert Francis Joyce (1956-1971)
  • Edward Francis Ryan (1944-1956)
  • Matthew Francis Brady (1938-1944)
  • Joseph John Rice (1910-1938)
  • John Stephen Michaud (1899-1908)
  • Loius deGoesbriand (1853-1899)

Statistical Overview of the Diocese

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Burlington serves 110,000 Catholics. There are 36 active priests, 44 permanent deacons and 15 religious ministering in 68 parishes. The diocese includes 12 Catholic schools and a catechetical system with an estimated 2,500 students. Through Vermont Catholic Charities’ social services and homes for the aged, the Diocese of Burlington assisted more than 3,000 Vermonters last year. A complete statistical overview of the Diocese can be found in the Kenedy Directory.

Vermont Catholic, the Official Publication of the Diocese of Burlington

Vermont Catholic is the official publication of the Diocese of Burlington. It consists of: a quarterly, print magazine; a monthly, digital eNews; a weekly bulletin, The Inland See; and ongoing Catholic news at Vermont Catholic Online News.