Log in

Campus Compact honors St. Joseph's Residential Care Home

Vermont college students, faculty, and staff will gather on Friday April 7th, 2017 at the Community College of Vermont's Montpelier Campus to celebrate individual contributions and the collective impact of higher education in service to Vermont.
Three awards will be presented to students, faculty, staff, and organizations who partner with our colleges and universities to meet community needs.  Honorees include:
The Engaged Educator Award is given to a faculty member who has made public service an integral part of their teaching and research to the benefit of both students and the community. This year's finalists include:

Laurel Butler, Vermont Technical College

Kelly Hamshaw, University of Vermont

Kathy Fox, University of Vermont

Moise St. Louis, Saint Michael's College

Allison Cleary, Saint Michael's College

Robin Collins, Champlain College

Faith Yacubian, Champlain College

Shawna Shapiro, Middlebury College

The Engaged Student Awards are given to one student or student group at any Vermont campus for both the breadth and depth of their community involvement.  This year, the following students will receive these awards:

Kimberly Payne, Community College of Vermont

Chelsea Colby, Middlebury College

D. Sydney Rybicki and Erin Buckley, Saint Michael's College

Sarah Franco, Champlain College

Morgan Easton, Vermont Technical College

Elizabeth Boley, University of Vermont

Shanely Marmolejos, Southern Vermont College

The Engaged Partnership Award is given to honor a partnership between a community organization and Vermont campuses that has been leveraged to address real and pressing community needs.  This year's finalists include:

Elise Schadler of Urban and Community Forestry for her partnership with the University of Vermont

Open Door Clinic for their partnership with Middlebury College

St. Joseph's Residential Care Home for their partnership with Saint Michael's College

The event will also feature a panel on "Civically Engaged Careers" which will spotlight the experience of four young professionals, each of whom have incorporated civic engagement into their professional lives.  The panelists include: Colin Robinson, Political Director at the Vermont National Education Association; Gwen Pokalo, Director of the Center for Women & Enterprise Vermont; Dana Gulley, MBA Student in Sustainable Entrepreneurship at the University of Vermont; and Robyn Baylor, AmeriCorps VISTA Program Director at SerVermont.

The panelists will answer questions and share stories to inspire civically engaged undergraduate students to continue that engagement as they progress in with their professional careers.To learn more about the work being done by students, faculty, and campuses to positively impact our local and global communities, visit our websitewww.vermonthec.org or contact Kim Coleman at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..
Bishop's Fund Annual Appeal